Clubs and Societies

At IT Sligo we value our sporting life. One of the greatest memories in the Institute’s history was when our Gaelic football team won the Sigerson Cup in 2002. The College and Town joined to celebrate a unique first All Ireland football success. The fact that we went on to win it two more times was the icing on the cake. In soccer we also recently won the Umbro Cup.

We have over thirty clubs and thirty societies active every year.

The most popular sports clubs that we have apart from Gaelic football are soccer, ladies football, hurling, athletics, surfing and handball. We also have clubs for the likes of judo, sailing, horse riding and sub aqua.

Not everyone is into sport so if it is not your biggest priority there are plenty of other clubs to join, such as traditional music, the environmental club and the  engineering club.

Our clubs and societies organise many events that contribute to a vibrant social scene throughout the year. So why not join up with a club that interests you or maybe try something new – you never know, you may be able to set up your own club or society.

Whatever your choice, trying new things is an important part of college life.

Sports Clubs 2012

Club Contact Email/phone
Gaa Football Michael Harte harte.michael@itsligo.ie
Men’s Rugby Aaron loftus aaronloftyloftus@hotmail.com
Women’s Rugby Elaine Walsh
Boxing Club John Tighe
Surf Club Kerry Larkin larkin.kerry@itsligo.ie
Cricket Club
Dance Club Cynthia Mass
Gaa Handball Aoife McDonagh itsligo.gaahandball@gmail.com
Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Ryan Smith
Aikido Declan Bray bray.declan@itsligo.ie
macra na Feirma Mary McCarrick
Women’s Soccer Emma Mullin mullin.emma@itsligo.ie
Men’s Soccer Paul Powell powell.paul@itsligo.ie
Golf Club Cillian OMurchu omurchu.cillian@itsligo.ie
Kite-Surfing William Carey
Olympic Handball Robert Hamm soha2000@gmx.net
Ultimate Frisbee Hayley koppenhofer hayleyz210@hotmail.com
Badminton Martin Murray
Sub Aqua Club
Swimming & Dervela Galvin
Life saving